Monitor raspberry device

I’m new with info-beamer and using the hosted version. Using a raspberry pi 3b+ and have installed the info-beamer OS there.

I want to monitor my raspberry device using “datadog”, and for that I need to run a bit of code on the terminal. But it seems it’s not allowed. Probably on purpose, but is there any way to install datadog anyway?

The info-beamer OS doesn’t use Raspbian, so you can’t install programs the depend on apt-get or similar infrastructure usually available. What kind of information are you interested in gathering on the device?

The OS was designed to not require detailed on-device monitoring as most of the common issues are handled automatically. You don’t have to monitor available disk space for example, as that’s completely handled by the OS: It will remove old cached content if space runs low automatically.

On the other hand, info-beamer hosted already gathers a few metrics and makes them available internally. If you enable [x] advanced/developer options on the account page, you’ll get four graphs on each device page showing fps, load, temperature and mem usage of the info-beamer process. These values are also available through the API.

For individual device realtime metrics, the device sensor API can be used to query live information from a device.

For monitoring overall device uptime/availability: Recently a Device Check API was added that can be queries by systems like nagios or similar pull based monitoring solutions.

Maybe one of those helps? If not, it should also be possible to wrap any kind of event gathering daemon into its own package service and install it on a device that way.

1 Like

Thanks for the clear and extended answer. I’m aware of all the metrics that are available by default, and while this does show essential data, we would still like to manage all our devices in one platform like Datadog. Instead of having to use info-beamer just for a few of our devices.